A building with much to tell
Palace of Miramar
We present an interesting historical stay where you will discover the past, present and future of the building that hosts Gran Hotel Miramar.
It was the masterpiece of the architect Fernando Guerrero Strachan and it was inaugurated after five years of construction in 1926 by King Alfonso XIII under the name “Hotel Príncipe de Asturias”.
Opening of Hotel Príncipe de Asturias in 1926.
Inauguration of Hotel Príncipe de Asturias in 1926 by HM King Alfonso XIII.
Visit of King Alfonso XIII to Málaga in 1926 to inaugurate Hotel Príncipe de Asturias. To his left, the hotel architect Fernando Guerrero Strachan.
Interior image of the Neo-Arabic portico which leads to the interior courtyard of Hotel Príncipe de Asturias.
Inauguration of Hotel Príncipe de Asturias by King Alfonso XIII alongside Queen Victoria Eugenie of Battenberg.
Local press clipping of the hotel’s inauguration in 1926 next to different members of Spanish and international bourgeoisie.
At the end of the Spanish Civil War, the palace reopened its doors and regained some of its old functions under the name “Hotel Miramar” until 1967, which is when it closed its doors.
A young Carmen Sevilla enjoys a dance in the halls of Hotel Miramar
Image of the glamorous People magazine of different 1950s celebrities in the interior courtyard of Hotel Miramar.
Montage of the dinner service. Main hall of Hotel Miramar
Restored facade of Hotel Miramar, 1940s.
The queens Elisabeth of Belgium and Marie José of Italy visited Hotel Miramar in 1947.
Palace of Justice
The building was Malaga’s Palace of Justice until 2007, completely transforming its activity and spaces to adapt to its new role.
The rebirth of a classic
Hoteles Santos bought the property of Palacio de Miramar and brought it back to its previous historical splendour as a hotel.
Discover the new Gran Hotel Miramar